About the CEBM

The CEBM aims to develop, teach and promote evidence-based health care through a variety of methods so that all healthcare professionals can maintain the highest standards of medicine.



The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine is housed within the Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences at the University of Oxford, and is led by the Director, Professor Carl Heneghan,  Editor-in-Chief of BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine, and a General Practitioner in Oxford.

The CEBM is made up of 41 members of core staff fellows and collaborators and includes a WHO collaborating centre; the University of Oxford’s Graduate School in EBM, incorporating the MSc in EBHC Programme, a DPhil in EBHC, and the Teaching EBM course; international conferences such as Preventing Overdiagnosis and Evidence Live; Evidence Aid; and the EBM DataLab.

The Centre is managed by Ms Ruth Davis, who has several years’ experience in academic health care management and administration. Ruth is responsible for the day-to-day running of the CEBM as well as being the focal point for external enquiries about the Centre.

Dr Kamal R. Mahtani is the Deputy Director of the CEBM and a General Practitioner. He divides his time between research, teaching, and clinical practice. He is a Principal Investigator and leads teaching on the Graduate Entry EBM course, as well as the world-renowned Teaching EBM course, now in its 21st year. He is also Course Director of the new MSc in EBHC Systematic Reviews.

Dr Annette Plüddemann is the Course Director of the MSc in Evidence-Based Healthcare, and Dr David Nunan leads the Practice of EBHC module that runs three times a year.

Professor Rafael Perera is Director of Research Methods, and Deputy Director Professor Richard Stevens is also Course Director of the new MSc in EBHC Medical Statistics.

Dr Ben Goldacre directs the EBM DataLab, which creates interesting, innovative, live and impactful projects using academic and health data.

Dr Marcy McCall MacBain is a CEBM Research Fellow and Director of Online Education, working from her office in Geneva, Switzerland. Pursuant to improving health care education and the large-scale uptake of evidence-based practices in health care, Marcy is working to develop online digital platforms for evidence-based skills training.

There are currently over 25 active staff and honorary members of the CEBM. Many of the active staff include other clinicians, epidemiologists, information specialists, qualitative and quantitative researchers, and statisticians. The CEBM has non-financial support from other leaders in Evidence-Based Health Care, including Sir Muir Gray, Sir Iain Chalmers, Professor Stuart Carney, and Professor Rod Jackson, as well as many more academic leaders in this field.

This website contains details of learning resources available from the Centre and collaborative departments, as well as blogs, podcasts, videos, and upcoming local and international public engagement events.

Follow CEBM on Twitter.

Creative Commons License
All our work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Centre Staff

Carl Heneghan

Kamal Mahtani Square

Kamal Mahtani

David Nunan

Igho Onakpoya

Ruth Davis

Annette Plüddemann


Rafael Perera

Nia Roberts

Jeffrey Aronson

Joanna Lach


Ben Goldacre

Marcy McCall MacBain

Sir Muir Gray

Honorary Fellows

Mike Clarke, Queens University, Belfast

Sir Iain Chalmers, James Lind Initiative

Mike Crilly, University of Aberdeen

Rod Jackson, University of Auckland

Sharon Strauss, Keenan Research Centre

Tim Muntinga

Su May Liew


Tom Jefferson, Cochrane ARI Group

Jon Brassey (Trip Database)

Jon Brassey, Trip Database


Bethany Shinkins, Leeds AUHE

Peter Gill

Braden O’Neill